Town of Wendell, Massachusetts

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Broadband Committee Draft Minutes of the 6-27-2011 meeting

Draft Minutes of the 6-27-2011 meeting

E-mail Print

Wendell Broadband Committee
June 27, 2011 Draft Meeting Minutes
Meeting opened at: 7:15 p.m. at the Wendell Town Offices.

Members Present: Robbie Heller, Robbie Leppzer, Nan Riebschlaeger, and Benjamin Schwartz.

The meeting opened with a free discussion of the upcoming Wired West cooperative formation meeting that will be held on July 16 at 9am at the Cummington Community House on Main Street in the town of Cummington. Wired West will formally accept their articles of incorporation and bylaws, elect an executive committee, create committees and discuss new business. This is an important meeting signifying a major step forward in the region's efforts to bring big broadband to western Massachusetts. Amongst the topics talked about was the some clarifications on how the Lighting Plant Board members get selected, being that if the Select Board opts to create the Lighting Plant Board as a separate entity, the members need to be elected, rather than simply being appointed. In light of this and given the tight time frame the Wendell Broadband Committee came to the conclusion that we should keep the Wendell Broadband Committee as is and provide the Select Board with the necessary materials and information to perform the needed legal steps to get Wendell on board as a charter member of the Wired West Cooperative in time for the July 16 meeting.

After the discussion the following actions took place:

A motion was made and seconded to Keep the Wendell Broadband Committee as is. This motion passed unanimously.

A motion was made and seconded to:

1) Recommend to the Select Board to appoint Robbie Leppzer as Manager of the lighting plant department and to be the Delegate to the Wired West Cooperative.

2) Recommend to the Select Board to appoint Nan Riebschlaeger as the Alternative Delegate to the Wired West Cooperative.

This motion passed unanimously.

The meeting was then adjourned at 7:45 pm.


Broadband Committee


Broadband Construction Committee

Christine Heard, chair
Jeoff Pooser
Doug Tanner
Alistair MacMartin
Nan Riebschlaeger
Wanita Sears

Broadband Operations Committee

Alistair MacMartin, chair
Nan Riebschlaeger
Wanita Sears
Kai Carol Jud
Al MacIntyre
Lou Leelyn
Dan Keller

E-Mail the whole Committee



Broadband Committee Documents


Broadband Survey comments and questions and answers updated with response to whether respondant w...

Broadband Events

No events

Old Home Day

Image Detail