Town of Wendell, Massachusetts

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Wendell Free Library

Upcoming Events and News



"Teen Wolf"

E-mail Print

Saturday, October 21. at 7:30pm

Teen Wolf Meet Scott Howard, a struggling high school student with problems. He is on a lackluster basketball team with a lame duck coach, he is having problems getting noticed by the prettiest girl in his school, Pamela Wells (who already has a boyfriend who wants to ruin Scott's life named Mick McAllister). But in the middle of it all, he feels an effects of a dog whistle and he itches everywhere and even discovers that his nails are longer and sharp. When he came home from a party, he discovers his new problem. He is a half human-wolf hybrid. He tries to keep this a secret, but during a basketball game the secret comes out and it helped Scott to turn his life around, the basketball team starts to become a contender for the state championships. He became very popular, and he was discovered by Pamela, and begin to go out with each other (despite that Pamela is still going out with Mick). However, Scott's father warns him about turning into the wolf out of anger. Scott must watch his anger as ...

Read more...
 

Mostly Yoga

alt

Join our merry band of eight Wendell area body movement teachers leading sessions on a rotating basis.

A variety of yoga styles are offered.

Teachers include: Christine Texiera, Donna Horn, Elizabeth Witham, Jackie Howard, Janice Doubleday, Sam Scherer, Shay Cooper, and Wendy Sager

 

 

New

Each instructor teaches for the entire month.

START TIMES VARY, DEPENDING ON THE SEASON.

 

Sunday Mornings, October, 2017 - May 2018


Teachers' Schedule

Jackie Howard - October 9am

Sasha Rivera - November 10am

Shay Cooper - December (1st-3rd Sundays) 10am

Christine Texiera- January (plus Dec. 4 &5th Sundays ) 10am

Janice Doubleday - February 10am

Donna Horn - March 10am

Kathy Sward - April, 9am

TBA - May 9am

Sponsored by The Friends of the Wendell Free Library

A donation of $3 or more is requested to help sustain the program.
STUDENTS OF ALL LEVELS ARE WELCOME.
Read more...
 

Please Donate good condition DVDs and Books to the Library

E-mail Print
altDonate Used DVDs & Books.
We may add them to our collection for others to borrow or place them in our ongoing book sale. Either way, your donation helps the library and your neighbors.

DVDs The Library DVD collection gets heavy use and it's hard to keep up with the demand for new and varied titles. If you have DVDs in good condition collecting dust on your shelves, please consider giving them an new active life at the library. Even if it's a title you know the library already owns, we are always happy to replace our worn copy with a donated copy in better shape.

Books Donations of recently published fiction and non fiction books (2014-2017) are also appreciated to round out the library's collection. Donated books need to be in good condition to make it on to the shelves. If we decide not to add a donated book to the collection, we can still place it in the Book Sale Carts in the lobby. Proceeds from those book sales help purchase new books and DVDs for the library collection.

We ask that you bring your DVD and book donations to the library during open hours, so that we can quickly sort through and pick out the items that make sense for the library shelves or our book sale. All others can go to the used book box at the WRATS. Please don't leave boxes of donations on the porch.

If you have any questions, please e-mail or call 978-544-3559. THANKS!!

 

Fall Art Show 2017

E-mail Print

Herrick Room Gallery

In Response to Paper:
Recent Works by Julia Rabin

Opening Reception:  Saturday, September 30, 2017 

In Response to Paper is a collection of ten recent works by Wendell artist Julia Rabin in the Herrick Gallery of the Wendell Free Library during the months of September and October, 2017. 

Rabin is a bookbinder by profession, but as an independent artist works with many media.  She gathers materials happened upon by chance; often too they are sought out in nature.  With this collection, Rabin plays with line in a reverent and playful exploration of scale, presentation, and perspective while paying homage to paper as an aesthetic in and of itself. 

In Black Deckle, Evening over Roundhouse, Rabin altered a found frame with digital photographs of clouds and sky printed on Nyodo Japanese tissue.  The then newly lacquered and varnished frame surrounds another three dimensional rectangular frame of black deckles (the cut off edges) from Twin Rocker paper.  A single photo of sky anchors the center of the structure, while also creating an outward trajectory that draws focus to the ephemeral character of the natural world. 


Julia Rabin - Black Deckle, Evening over Roundhouse



Rabin’s In Response to Paper is a collection that dissects the inherent qualities of paper to bring the focus back to its place within the natural world.  


As an added bonus, Julia has other three dimensional works on display in the library’s main entrance glass case.  One is moved by the variety in this show, yet also pauses with a curiosity inspired by a common intention.

(review by Heather Willey)


 

 

A Treasure Trove !

E-mail Print
2017 Audie Award Winners
The best audiobooks from the past year

Click here to search the whole catalog of available prize-winning titles
 
 
Some of the winners: (click on the title to listen to audiobook excerpts)

 


altNarration by the Author or Authors

A Life in Parts
by Bryan Cranston
A poignant, intimate, funny, inspiring memoir—both a coming-of-age story and a meditation on creativity, devotion, and craft—from Bryan Cranston, beloved and acclaimed star of one of history's most successful TV shows, Breaking Bad.

Written and narrated by Bryan Cranston, published by Simon & Schuster Audio

 

 

 



altAudiobook of the Year

Hamilton: The Revolution
by Lin-Manuel Miranda and Jeremy McCarter
Narrated by Mariska Hargitay with the authors, published by Hachette Audio

Winner of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Drama and Eleven Tony Awards, including Best Musical

Lin-Manuel Miranda's groundbreaking musical Hamilton is as revolutionary as its subject, the poor kid from the Caribbean who fought the British, defended the Constitution, and helped to found the United States. Fusing hip-hop, pop, R&B, and the best traditions of theater, this once-in-a-generation show broadens the sound of Broadway, reveals the storytelling power of rap, and claims our country's origins for a diverse new generation.

 

 


altWhen Breath Becomes Air

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

• ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST

• NEW YORK TIMES NPR BOOKS FOR A BETTER LIFE AWARD FINALIST


alt
Doctor Who, The Tenth Doctor Tales
10th Doctor Audio Originals

by Peter Anghelides Author, Catherine Tate Narrator
David Tennant, Catherine Tate and Michelle Ryan read this exclusive collection of original audio adventures. Join the Tenth Doctor on these seven adventures in Time and Space, written specially for audio.

 

 


altExcellence in Design

Geek Feminist Revolution
Essays On Subversion, Tactical Profanity, and The Power of Media



By Kameron Hurley Author, C. S. E. Cooney Narrator
Design by Jessica Daigle, published by HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books

 

 

 

Commonwealth Catalog

E-mail Print

alt

*

Massachusetts residents with a library card can now check out resources from a state-wide network of libraries, including the UMass Amherst Libraries, and pick them up at their own local library, using the Commonwealth Catalog.
Read more...
 

Explore Yoga

E-mail Print
altwith Shay Cooper
Most Fridays at 10:00 AM
Mixed Levels All Welcome!

$8-$10 per session, or barter
 
 

AA Meetings

E-mail Print

AA Open Meeting

Saturdays & Sundays
6-7 PM
Wendell Library Herrick Room


All Welcome

 
  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »


Page 1 of 2

Login into your C/W Mars Account

Get the App for your Android smartphone or tablet!

LIBRARY HOURS:

Oct through May

Mon 12:00-5:00 Internet only
Tue  12:00-7:00
Wed 10:00-7:00
Thu   3:00-7:00
Sat    9:30-3:30
Sun  11:30-3:30



PHONE: (978) 544-3559
LIBRARIANS:
Rosie Heidkamp, Director
Joy Brenneman, Asst. Librarian
ADDRESS:
PO Box 236
7 Wendell Depot Road
Wendell MA 01379
DIRECTIONS: Google Map

 


MUSEUM & PARK PASSES: (FAQ)

Brattleboro Museum and Art Center

Clark Art Museum

Historic Deerfield

Magic Wings Butterfly Museum

Mass MoCA

Massachusetts State Parks

Mystic Aquarium


Library Application Documents

Library Calendar

AA Open Meeting
Sat Oct 21 @06:00PM - 07:00PM
"Teen Wolf"
Sat Oct 21 @07:30PM - 10:00PM
AA Open Meeting
Sun Oct 22 @06:00PM - 07:00PM
AA Open Meeting
Sat Oct 28 @06:00PM - 07:00PM
AA Open Meeting
Sun Oct 29 @06:00PM - 07:00PM
AA Open Meeting
Sat Nov 04 @06:00PM - 07:00PM
AA Open Meeting
Sun Nov 05 @06:00PM - 07:00PM
AA Open Meeting
Sat Nov 11 @06:00PM - 07:00PM
AA Open Meeting
Sun Nov 12 @06:00PM - 07:00PM
AA Open Meeting
Sat Nov 18 @06:00PM - 07:00PM

Library Snapshots

Gift Boxes
Image Detail